Back to top

Recreation Board


Ga. Laws 1946, Act No. 622, p. 152 (GA Code 36-64-5); BOC resolution of March 8, 1966 (Photostat Book No. 2); Amended by BOC February 8, 1972; Amended November 26, 1996 (name changed from Recreation Commission to Recreation Board with recodification of Code, effective 1/1/97).

BOC action of 02/26/13 increased the size of the Recreation Board from seven to nine members.


Consists of nine members appointed by the BOC and who serve without compensation. Terms of office, after initial staggering, shall be five (5) years or until successors are appointed. Vacancies occurring, other than by expiration of term, are filled for the unexpired term.

The recreation board shall provide, conduct and supervise public playgrounds, playfields, indoor recreation centers, and other recreation facilities owned or controlled by the county. The board shall have the power to conduct any form of recreation or cultural activity that will employ the leisure time of the people in a wholesome or constructive manner. It may conduct such activities on properties under its own control, on public properties with the consent of the authorities thereof, and on private properties with the consent of the owners.

Members receive no compensation.

Recreation Board Meetings

2nd Tuesday of each month

1792 County Services Parkway
Marietta, GA 30008

Recreation Board Meeting Calendar

Board Members

Member Name Appointed By Term
Tina Clark Chairwoman Cupid 03/31/2026
Bill Carver  Commissioner Ott 03/31/2024
Wynn McCurdy , Chair Commissioner Birrell 03/31/2026
John Pape  Commissioner Gambrill 03/31/2028
Demetrius Lockett Commissioner Sheffield 03/31/2027
Nathan Wade  Commissioner Birrell 03/31/2027
Elliot Hennington  Commissioner Cupid 03/31/2028
Jill Flamm Commissioner Ott 03/31/2023
Michael Edwards Commissioner Gambrill 03/31/2026


Cobb County PARKS