Back to top

Board of Zoning Appeals


BOC resolution of December 26, 1972; May 2, 1973 the BOC designated the Zoning and Planning Commission as the Board of Zoning Appeals; BOC resolution of September 25, 1973.

July 25, 1989 action of the BOC amended the May 2, 1973 action and allows the members of the BOC the option to recommend separate appointments to the Planning Commission and the Board of Zoning Appeals but still allows the option to have one appointment serve on both boards; Resolution of February 25, 1997 amended the terms of appointees to run concurrently with the terms of office of the appointing commissioners; BOC resolution of April 22, 2003 increased monthly salaries of the PC and BZA with the Chairman of the PC and the BZA compensated an additional $25.00 per month per Board and the Secretary of the PC and the BZA compensated an additional $25.00 per month per Board; BOC resolution of September 9, 2003 increased the annual compensation to $10,000.00 for members serving on both the PC and the Board of Zoning Appeals with said action retaining the additional monthly compensation for the Chairman and Secretary of the PC and the BZA (see April 22, 2003 action above). Code Section 134-91.


Consists of not less than three (3) nor more than seven (7) members appointed by the governing authority. Members serve terms to run concurrent with that of the appointment commissioner and serve at the pleasure of the appointment commissioner. The appointing authority determines the amount of compensation. None of the members shall hold any other public office or position in the county, except that members may be members of both the Planning Commission and the Board of Zoning Appeals. Creation, duties and responsibilities of this board are contained in the County Code, Zoning Ordinance, beginning at Section 134-91.

View upcoming Board of Zoning Appeals meetings

Board Members

Member Appointed By  Term
Barkley Russell Chairwoman Cupid 12/31/2024
Fred Beloin Commissioner Gambrill 12/31/2026
Kim Swanson Commissioner Richardson 12/31/2024
Alice Summerour Commissioner Birrell 12/31/2026
Deidra Willis Commissioner Sheffield 12/31/2024


Community Development Agency - Zoning Division Manager