Back to top

Cobb County - Marietta Water Authority


Ga. Laws 1951, p. 497, Act #319; Ga. Laws 1965, p. 2762, Act #285; Ga. Laws 1967, p. 2051, Act #13; Ga. Laws 1984, p. 4325, Act #935; Ga. Laws 1986, p. 5296; Ga. Laws 1988, p. 4028, Act #951; Ga. Laws 1989, p. 4711, Act #279; Ga. Laws 1994, pg. (S.B. #664, Act #921).

HB 318 of 2006 amended the membership of the Authority. House Bill 819 of 2007 provided for a pay increase.  HB 1003 of 2016 amended the membership of the Authority.


Composed of seven (7) members consisting of the following (per 2016 legislation): 

  1. one (1) member shall be the chairperson of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners
  2. one (1) member selected by the governing authority of the City of Marietta 
  3. one (1) member selected by the governing authority of the City of Smyrna 
  4. four (4) members selected by a caucus consisting of all members of the General Assembly whose districts are wholly or partially within Cobb County; the four (4) members so selected by the caucus shall include one member from the Cobb Commission District 1 or 4, excluding residents of Marietta and Smyrna; one member from Cobb Commission District 2 or 3, excluding residents of Marietta and Smyrna; and two members from unincorporated Cobb County.

The term of the office of the Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners as a member of the authority shall be concurrent with his/her term of office as chairperson. 

All other members of the Authority shall serve for terms of four (4) years and until their successors are appointed and qualified and shall assume office on August 15 following the expiration of the prior members' terms.

This Authority is created as a body corporate and politic which is deemed to be a political subdivision of the State of Georgia and a public corporation. Members receive $4,800 per year and the Chairman receives $6,000 per year.

Board Members

Member Name Appointed By Term
Lisa Cupid By Virtue of Position 01/01/2021 – 12/31/2024 
James C. Scott, Jr., Chairman  Cobb Delegation 04/15/2013 – 08/14/2023 
Griffin Chalfant City of Marietta Council 08/15/2012 – 08/14/2024
Charles A. "Corkey" Welch City of Smyrna Mayor 08/15/2020  - 08/14/2024
Charlie Crowder, Secretary Cobb Delegation 12/14/2009 – 08/14/2026 
James Balli Cobb Delegation 01/01/2017 – 08/14/2023 
Dan Buyers, Vice Chairman Cobb Delegation  08/15/2013 – 08/14/2025 


Nicole Zvanut