Back to top

Kennestone Hospital Authority


Created by resolution of BOC per minutes of May 23, 1972, Item #71, as an additional Hospital Authority under provisions of Ga. Laws 1964, as amended, Chapter 88-18 (now Chapter 31-7) of Ga. Code, particularly under the authority of Ga. Code Sec. 88-1803.l (now Ga. Code Section 31-7-73),

Ga. Laws 1972, p. 683. Ga. Code Sec. 31-7-73 provides for the creation of an additional hospital authority for each county having a population of 100,000 or more according to the U.S. decennial census of 1970 or any future such census.


Consists of not less than five (5) nor more than nine (9) members to be appointed by the governing body of the County (BOC). After initially staggered terms, terms are for five (5) years. Appointments to unexpired terms are made for the term balance. The BOC submits three (3) names to the Kennestone Hospital Authority for their consideration and selection for appointment; the Hospital Authority at its next regular meeting shall either select one of the three persons named in the BOC list or decline to select any one of those submitted.

If the Hospital Authority declines to select any of the persons named on the list, it shall so notify the BOC and the BOC shall submit a second list of three eligible persons. The Hospital Authority at its next Regular Meeting shall select one of the persons named in the second list.

Members shall be residents of Cobb County. Members select their own officers and receive no compensation but may be reimbursed for expenses incurred in the performance of their duties or, in the alternative, members may elect to be reimbursed for expenses on a per diem basis not to exceed $100.00 per meeting and a total of $100.00 per month.

Functions and powers of the hospital authority are listed in Ga. Code Section 31-7-75.

Board Members

Member Name Appointed By Term
Vacant Board of Commissioners 05/23/2024
Janie Maddox Board of Commissioners 05/23/2024
Randall Bentley, Sr., Chair  Board of Commissioners 05/23/2024
Chris Poston Board of Commissioners 05/23/2025
James Holmes Board of Commissioners 05/23/2025
Vacant Board of Commissioners 05/23/2021
Janet J. Street Board of Commissioners 05/23/2021
Joan Bloom  Board of Commissioners  05/23/2022
Vacant Board of Commissioners 05/23/2022


Katrina Munson
Wellstar Health System