Back to top

Establishment of the Neighborhood Safety Commission


Created by Resolution of the BOC on September 28, 1999.


Established as a commission to assist in efforts to promote safer neighborhoods for both the residential and business communities as well as to gain an increase in local community involvement. The commission will work to identify new resources as well as work to strengthen existing safety programs. The commission consists of fifteen (15) members who represent the areas of business and industry, and community and civic organizations in Cobb County. Each member of the Board of commissioners appoints three (3) members.

After initially staggered terms of one (1), two (2) and three (3) years, all successive terms are for three (3) years or until their successors are appointed. Members serve at the pleasure of the BOC and may be removed at any time with or without cause.

This commission shall elect its own officers. The commission has no power to incur debt or contractually bind Cobb County unless specifically authorized by resolution of the Board of Commissioners. The Commission meets on the 3rd Friday of the month at 8:30 a.m. at 100 Cherokee Street, Marietta (2nd Floor Board Meeting Room).

Visit the Neighborhood Safety Commission section for more information

Board Members

Member Name Commissioner Appointment Term
Tosha Settles Chair 09/30/2025
David Knight Chair 09/30/2025
Zachary Hiatt Chair 09/30/2025
Judesther Marc Commissioner Gambrill 09/30/2026
Jeffrey Wood Commissioner Gambrill 09/30/2026
Richard Rubio Commissioner Gambrill 09/30/2024
Daniel Matalon Commissioner Richardson 09/30/2023
Renee Jones Commissioner Richardson 09/30/2024
Andy Smith Commissioner Richardson 09/30/2022
David Harris Commissioner Sheffield 09/30/2025
Joel Cope Commissioner Sheffield  09/30/2022
  Commissioner Sheffield 09/30/2025
Joan Bloom Commissioner Birrell 09/30/2024
Susan Hampton Commissioner Birrell 09/30/2026
Carlton Stott Commissioner Birrell 09/30/2025


Department of Public Safety