Back to top

Establishment of the Historic Preservation Commission


Ordinance of August 28, 1984; Amendment of 3-9-93 regarding method of appointment. Code Section 66-26


Consists of five (5) members appointed by the Board of Commissioners who are residents of Cobb County and have demonstrated special interest, experience or education in history, architecture or the preservation of historic resources.

After initially staggered terms, members serve terms to run concurrent with that of that of the appointment Commissioner and serves at the pleasure of the appointing Commissioner. Members do not receive compensation but may be reimbursed for expenses if approved by the BOC.

This Commission has only advisory authority in recommending landmark and historic district designation and is considered a part of the planning functions of Cobb County.

Find out more about the Historic Preservation Commission

Board Members

Member Name Appointed By Term
  Commissioner Birrell 12/31/2022
Cal Dortch Commissioner Ott 12/31/2020
Abbie T. Parks, Chair Commissioner Gambrill 12/31/2022
Geraldine Savage Aldridge  Commissioner Cupid 12/31/2020
M. Christopher Baldwin Commissioner Boyce 12/31/2020


Community Development Agency - Planning Division

[email protected]