Back to top

Commission Chairwoman

About Chairwoman Lisa Cupid

Cobb County Commission Chairwoman LIsa Cupid

Lisa Cupid is the Chairwoman of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners. She has served on the Cobb Board of Commissioners since 2013 and in 2020 was elected as Cobb’s first black and first female Chair. Cupid helps set policy for Georgia’s 3rd most populous county boasting multiple Fortune 500 companies, strong K-12 schools, top higher educational institutions, natural and historic amenities, attractive communities and robust tourist attractions.

Chairwoman Cupid is a woman of faith and a devoted mom whose steps are ordered to serve. She is an attorney and former mediator, policy analyst and manufacturing process engineer. She resides in Smyrna with her two children and husband, who is also an attorney, law partner, and former electrical engineer. Both are graduates of Georgia Tech and Georgia State Law. Cupid and her husband are of Guyanese and Trinidadian heritage, respectively, which Cupid credits for her hard work ethic, humility and humor. When not serving, you may find Chairwoman Cupid reading, running, or rooting for her kids on the side of a court or field.

What is most important to Chairwoman Cupid is Cobb’s 800,000 residents who are highly educated, diverse, and reflect the best that Cobb has to offer. Cupid takes pride in advocating for the interests of all persons across demographic or economic standing. Cupid is committed to being all-in, where the success of Cobb reaches all areas and all people of the County.


  • Wage increases for county employees 
  • Created an official partnership with MUST Ministries to provide a warming and cooling shelter for citizens during extreme weather.
  • Expansion of transit service to include on-demand transit
  • Improvement of citizen education and engagement through the Cobb 101 Citizens Government Academy and the Cobb County Youth Commission 
  • Advocating for enhanced public safety measures, including using license plate readers, additional body cameras, and implementing a public safety nuisance abatement program.  
  • Gritters Library rebuild and expansion to include a community center and workforce development center.  Expected completion in 2024.
  • Spearheaded the annual Cobb County International Festival
  • Advocating for the Top End Project, enhancing transportation and commuter needs across I-285 and down to I-20
  • Grants for childcare centers
  • Mental health cooperative meetings where departments can create cooperative strategies
  • Launched the Keep Cobb Beautiful Sustainability Forum
  • Reduced permitting times by decentralizing services, allowing the fire marshall to review cases on a more timely basis
  • Building code centralization with the Unified Development Code
  • Expansion of nature trails across the county, including Riverline Discovery Park - Cobb's Chattahoochee River Trail Pedestrian Improvement Project will provide connectivity to future tributary trails planned along Mableton Parkway and Nickajack Creek. It will eventually be part of the regional Chattahoochee RiverLands project, linking trails to other parts of metro Atlanta.


Subscribe to This Week with Commission Chairwoman Lisa Cupid

If you have not received a confirmation email, check your spam folder.

Chairwoman Cupid outdoors
Chairwoman Lisa Cupid Event Participation Requests

Interested in having Chairwoman Lisa Cupid participate in your event?

Complete this form to request her participation and tell us about your event.

Building A Entrance
Request a One-on-One Meeting with the Chairwoman

Interested in having a one-on-one meeting with Chairwoman Lisa Cupid?

Complete this form to request her participation and we will contact you for more details.

Contact the Commission Chairwoman

Cobb County District Map

Commission Chairwoman, Lisa Cupid
(770) 528-3306
(770) 528-2606 fax

Commission Chairwoman's  Chief Assistant, Sanam Azeem

Commission Chairwoman's Executive Assistant, Delisa Eaton