Back to top

Establishment of the South Cobb Redevelopment Authority


Ga. Laws 1982, p. 3772, Act #912; Amended per Ga. Laws 1983, p. 4324, Amended per Ga. Laws 1993, p. 5143; Amended per Ga. Laws 2002 p. 5041, Act. No. 666 (H.B. No. 1804). (NOTE: In November 2002, the Development Authority was reactivated and initial staggered terms were given to the members. After the staggered terms, all future terms are for three (3) years. Terms begin January 1st and end December 31st for each three-year term.) On May 12, 2011 (Senate Bill 266) the authority was renamed as the "South Cobb Redevelopment Authority" and the composition of the membership was changed.


Composed of seven (7) members as follows:

  • Four (4) members shall be appointed by a majority of a quorum of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners.
  • The remaining three (3) members shall be appointed by a majority of a quorum of the Cobb County delegation to the General Assembly whose districts include any part of the development area.

Terms of office of members of the authority shall be for four years and until their successors are appointed and qualified; except that the initial three (3) members appointed by the Cobb County legislative delegation shall serve for terms of office of one, two, and three years, respectively, and until their successors are appointed and qualified.

Any vacancy in office shall be filled in like manner as the original appointment, and the person appointed to fill such vacancy shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term and until a successor is appointed and qualified.

Created as a body corporate and politic with power to sue and be sued, execute contracts and agreements, purchase, lease or hold real and personal property, to borrow money, to issue revenue bonds among other powers.

Members receive no compensation.

Find out more about the South Cobb Redevelopment Authority

Board Members

Member Name Appointed By Term
Samuel Culbreath, III Board of Commissioners 12/31/2027
Jason Gaines Board of Commissioners 12/31/2027
Joel Cope   12/31/2027
 Edrick Harris Board of Commissioners 12/31/2027
Vacant Board of Commissioners  
Crystal Bullock Wyche  Cobb County Delegation 12/31/2024
Dana Johnson Cobb County Delegation 12/31/2027


Economic Development