Back to top

Erosion Control

Community Development COVID-19 Limited Operations Notice
COVID-19 Agency Update

Community Development Lobbies are now open to the public with limited occupancy. Customers are encouraged to continue using all online services, saving time, lines, and gas.  

Please note: we are not accepting cash payments until further notice. We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and contactless payments through android pay, apple pay, and others. Visitors are highly advised to wear masks and must maintain a social distance of at least 6 feet from other visitors and County employees.

All front-facing divisions are following special procedures explained in this article. 

Erosion Control Complaints

The Erosion Control Division responds to resident's inquiries and complaints regarding:

  • Best Management Practices (BMP’s) Required – Reference to Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission Field Manual. Vegetative and Structural BMP’s.
  • Building Lot Eroding – When sediment or silted water is leaving site with no preventive measures installed.
  • Erosion Complaint (no drainage) – If soil is leaving residential building lot.
  • Mud in Streets – If erosion is occurring in a public road or right of way.
  • Silt Fence Down – Silt fence is down allowing erosion to leave site.
  • Erosion issues related to a building or Land Disturbance Permit. 

Please call our office at (770) 528-2190 to report a violation.

For commercial lots, please contact Development and Inspections, Site Inspections Section at (770) 528-2142.

Learn more about Cobb County's Erosion Control Division

Chattahoochee River
Protecting the Chattahoochee River

The Georgia General Assembly adopted the Metropolitan River Protection Act (MRPA)  in 1973, which protected a 48-mile stretch of the Chattahoochee River between Buford Dam and Peachtree Creek by creating a 2,000 foot buffer along both banks of the river and its impoundments. The Act was amended in 1998 to extend the Corridor an additional 36 miles to the downstream limits of Fulton and Douglas counties. Learn more about the MRPA.