Back to top

Erosion Control

river erosion

What We Do

The Erosion Control Division is responsible for the enforcement of state law and the county ordinance for erosion & sediment control on residential property to preserve the natural resources in Cobb County. 

We help residents and developers by: 

  • Investigating residential erosion complaints
  • Inspecting development on residential building lots 
Erosion Control using Sod
Education and Certification

Anyone involved in land development, design, review, permitting, construction, monitoring, inspection, or any land-disturbing activity in Georgia must meet education requirements and be certified by the Georgia Soil and Water Conservation Commission program developed in consultation with the Georgia Environmental Protection Division and the Stakeholder Advisory Board. Resources for education and certification are found on these pages.

Erosion Control Resources

Request an Erosion Inspection

To request an erosion inspection or re-inspection on an individual residential building lot, please call (770) 528-2190 and provide the following information:

  • Building permit number
  • Contact name
  • Contact number
  • Date of the request
  • Lot number/address

To request an erosion inspection or re-inspection on a large development site or commercial site, please call (770) 528-2142 and provide the following information:

  • SPR permit number
  • Contact name
  • Contact number
  • Date of the request
  • Site address

Report Erosion Issues

This form is for residential sites only. Visit our Inspections Page for commercial construction sites.

To report an erosion control issue, use our general report form. 

Chattahoochee River
Protecting the Chattahoochee River

The Georgia General Assembly adopted the Metropolitan River Protection Act (MRPA)  in 1973, which protected a 48-mile stretch of the Chattahoochee River between Buford Dam and Peachtree Creek by creating a 2,000 foot buffer along both banks of the river and its impoundments. The Act was amended in 1998 to extend the Corridor an additional 36 miles to the downstream limits of Fulton and Douglas counties. Learn more about the MRPA.