Take the Library with You! Download Our App!
Download our app to search our catalog, place holds, renew books, manage multiple accounts, and more! Available on the Apple App Store and Google Play. Search 'Cobb County Library'.
While libraries are closed to in-person visits, please contact our Customer Service team -- [email protected] -- to inquire about new library cards. Thank you!
A Cobb County Public Library card may be obtained by visiting any of our library locations.
Cobb County Public Library cards are free to all Cobb County residents as well as people who own property or businesses within Cobb County. Cobb County Public Library also issues library cards to educators, businesses (owners) in Cobb County, and current Cobb County employees. The person applying for the library card is responsible for all items checked out on the card.
A Cobb County library card allows patrons to borrow library materials, use the library’s public access computers, request materials through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service, and other Cobb County Public Library services. A valid library card must be used to borrow library materials. If the patron has forgotten the card, photo identification or acceptable identification must be presented.
Applicants must be present, including children, to receive a card; applications submitted via mail, fax, or email will not be accepted. Parents must sign the application for children 16 and under.
Library cards, with the exception of non-resident cards and temporary cards, expire every 2 years. When your card expires, simply visit any Cobb County library location, pay any fines you might have, and confirm your current address to renew your card for another 2 years.
Cobb County residents and people who own property or businesses within Cobb County are eligible for a free library card. Cobb County Public Library also issues library cards to educators and businesses in Cobb County and current Cobb County government employees. Find more information about the requirements for those cards below.
Applying for and Renewing Library Cards
Acceptable Forms of Identification
Cobb County Public Library requires the following forms of identification as proof of residency:
- Current Georgia driver’s license or Georgia state-issued identification with a photograph which shows a current address, or
- Georgia identification or other photo ID with a prior address, plus one of the following:
- Utility bill detailing a period within the last 30 days
- Bank statement issued within the last 30 days or personalized checks with current address
- Current completed lease with dates, address, and name
- Paycheck or paycheck stub issued within last 30 days with the current address
- School schedule or transcript for the current or preceding calendar year with name, address, and date
- Mortgage contracts, mortgage statement or payment coupon, deed, or property tax bill for current or preceding year
- Current voter registration card
Cobb County employees must bring their badges and proof of address (regardless of county of residence) to register for their card.
At the time of application, patrons will be asked to provide a personal identification number (PIN) to assign to their library card for access to their library account. If you forget your PIN, please visit your local library or contact our Customer Service Department at (770) 528-2326 or [email protected].
Patrons completing a library card application will also be provided the opportunity to register to vote.
- Download a library card application
- Aplicación para la tarjeta de la biblioteca en español
- Download an educator card application
Applications must be submitted in person; applications submitted via mail, fax, or email will not be accepted. Parents must sign the application for children 16 and under who must also be present.
Library Card Renewals
Resident library cards are renewed every two (2) years. Non-Resident and Educator cards are renewed every year. Library cards must be renewed at any Cobb County library in person by presenting ID with current street address. Minors ages 16 or under do not have to be present when a parent or legal guardian renews the minor’s library card. Library accounts with balances due must be paid in full before cards are eligible for renewal.
Lost, Stolen, or Forgotten Library Cards
If you have forgotten your library card and would like to check out materials, simply present your photo ID upon checkout. Library card numbers cannot be given out over the phone or via email due to privacy concerns. To obtain your library card number, please visit a branch with your photo ID.
Lost or stolen library cards must be reported immediately in person, by telephone, or by email to prevent unauthorized use or access. Patrons are responsible for all use of their library cards and all items checked out on their cards. To report a lost card, please call (770) 528-2326 or email [email protected].
Replacement Library Cards
A replacement library card can be issued with appropriate identification. A replacement fee is charged for lost, stolen, or damaged library cards.
Update My Information
It is the responsibility of the patron to inform the library of any change in mailing address. To change contact information, please call (770) 528-2326, email [email protected], or visit your local library.
Types of Library Cards
A child who is 16 years of age and under must have a parent or guardian present to provide current identification and to sign the library card application. The parent or legal guardian is responsible for all lost and damaged items and fines and fees on the child’s library card. The parent or legal guardian must authorize access to the internet for any child less than 17 years of age. A juvenile card is issued to a child from birth to 12; a young adult card is issued to a teen from 13-16 years of age. Federal law requires this authorization; it must be given in person with the child’s registration being signed by the parent or legal guardian.
Non-county residents can obtain a library card by completing an application, providing acceptable identification, and paying a $40 per person card fee at any Cobb County library. The cards are valid for one year and must be renewed in person each year. All library circulation policies apply to these cards.
Temporary cards can be issued to adults 17 years old or older residing at a temporary residence within Cobb County. The adult must present acceptable identification and proof of temporary residency. The proof of temporary residency may be a piece of mail addressed to the residency and postmarked within the past ten days or a letter from a service agency agreeing to accept the patron’s mail. The temporary card is valid for six (6) months from date of issue. Interlibrary Loan service is not available to temporary cardholders. A total of two (2) items may be checked out on the card at any time. The card is not transferable.
The parent or guardian’s temporary library card must be in good standing without any outstanding fines or fees above $10.00 in order to register a child for a temporary card. The parent or guardian is responsible for all fines and fees and lost or damaged materials charged on the card. The parent or legal guardian must authorize access to the internet for any child under 17 years of age. Federal law requires this authorization; it must be given in person with the child’s registration being signed by the parent or legal guardian.
A patron who is unable to visit a Cobb County Public Library because of age, illness, or disability may register for a homebound library card. The person facilitating the registration must provide proof of identity for the homebound person. Authorization must be given to persons to check out or pick up library materials on behalf of the cardholder. All library circulation policies apply to these cards.
A business card can be issued to local businesses, other organizations, and agencies located in Cobb County. In order to obtain a business card, the CEO or business officer must submit a statement of responsibility for fines and fees associated with the card on the business’s letterhead with signature. All library circulation policies apply to the business card.
Cobb County Employees
Current Cobb County Government employees can obtain a library card with acceptable identification. A non-resident employee is one who works for Cobb County but lives outside of the County. Cobb County Public Library employee cards are not limited to library employees. All library circulation policies apply.
Cobb County employees must bring their badges and proof of address, regardless of county of residence, to register for their cards.
Cobb County Educators
The educator card is a special card that entitles educators to borrow materials for use in the classroom. It does not replace the personal library card. The following educators are eligible to apply for a Cobb County Public Library Educator Card at any Cobb County library location.
- Licensed childcare centers
- K-12, including public, private, and parochial schools
- Cobb homeschool parents and guardians
- Educators who live outside Cobb County but teach in Cobb County.
How to Apply:
- Visit any Cobb County public library to complete the educator’s card application. If you are unable to visit a library in person, contact our Customer Service staff for more information.
- Present current school-issued photo ID and additional identification with home address.
- Homeschooling parents and guardians must present a current copy of their intent to homeschool and an additional identification showing Cobb residency.
- Educator cards are issued for the school year and expire on July 31. The card can be renewed by providing current identification and must be in good standing with all fines and fees paid.
- Check out a total of 50 items, except DVDs, videos, adult popular best-sellers, and Interlibrary Loans.
- Borrow the items for 9 weeks, no renewals.
- Access to electronic resources, downloadable books, and more.
- Cobb County Public Library's card and circulation policies apply.
- Keep track of all items checked out; receipts listing items with due date are given at time of check out.
- Library staff may limit the number of titles checked out on a particular subject.
- Card will be blocked if fines and fees reach $10.00
- Lost and damaged items must be paid.
- Materials checked out with an educator’s card are for classroom use and not for personal use.
Access My Library Account
Log in to our catalog using your card number and PIN. Select My Account. You’ll see a list of all the items you have checked out with the due dates, a list of any fines or other charges on your account, and a list of all items you have on hold, including where you are on the waiting list. If you need help, you can call us at (770) 528-2320.
When you’re done, don’t forget to log out of your account.
Fines may be paid in person at any of our library locations.
Credit card payments are now accepted online or at our Self Check kiosks located in the library. We accept payment with Visa and MasterCard credit cards. Please note there is a $5.00 minimum payment.
Cobb County Public Library reserves the right to replace their own materials through their own contracted vendors. Personal copies brought in by patrons will not be accepted as replacement(s) for lost and/or damaged materials.
All fines and fees are determined by the Board of Trustees of Cobb County Public Library and the Cobb County Board of Commissioners. Fines and fees can be paid by cash or check written to Cobb County Public Library or by credit card online.
To log in, please enter your library card number and PIN.
Types of Fees
Fines are charged to encourage the timely return and proper care of materials while they are checked out. Materials returned with missing pieces will be charged overdue fines until the item is complete and can be circulated again. Overdue fees include the following:
|Juvenile Book Kits||$0.15|
|VHS Video Tapes||$0.15|
|Center for Puppetry Arts Pass||$0.15|
|Kill A Watt EZ||$0.15|
Fees are charged to cover the cost of services provided and are based on the Library’s costs for supplies and overhead. Other fees include:
- Printing fee (black and white): $0.15
- Microform copy fee: $0.15
- Non-resident library card fee: $40/year
- Exam proctoring fee: $15 per exam, resident; $30 per exam, nonresident
- Meeting Room Normal Hours use fee: $25 per meeting (effective February 1, 2018)
- Meeting Room After Hours use fee: $100/hr
- Lost card replacement: $1.00
- Lost / Damaged Materials – Original library purchase price plus $10 processing fee
- Lost AV Part (CD, DVD, or CD-Rom with book) from a multi-disk set or instructional manual – $15 plus $10 processing fee
- Destroyed Audiobook CD, Cassette and Self-playing Audiobook Case – $5.00 (no processing fee)
- Unreturned or Destroyed CD, DVD, VHS Case – $2.00 (no processing fee)
- Juvenile Kits:
- Unreturned Bag – $2.00 (no processing fee)
- Unreturned Book – $10.00 (no processing fee)
- Unreturned AV Part – $15.00 (no processing fee)
- Lost Travel Map – $5.00
Fees are subject to change without notice.