Back to top

KCB Green School Initiative

Children Reading
Green School Logo

The purpose of the Green School Initiative is to recognize schools in Cobb County with an active environmental program and encourage inactive schools to develop environmentally based education initiatives within their schools.

The primary focus of this program is environmental conservation, preservation, and beautification. The Green School Initiative annually recognizes Cobb County Classrooms and Schools that have met Green School requirements.  These schools are recognized for participating in activities that promote good environmental stewardship.

To qualify, the nominated school must have at least 5 teachers receive Green Classroom designations, by completing 5 lesson plans or projects that help students learn about, protect, and beautify their environment.

The Green School Initiative program operates in partnership with the Cobb County Watershed Education ProgramsCobb County PARKS, and the Keep Cobb Beautiful program.

Contact Us

Jennifer McCoy, Watershed Stewardship Program Coordinator
(770) 528-1482

Kathy Nguyen, Water Efficiency Program Manager
(770) 419-6244

Joni Atkinson, Natural Resources Program Coordinator
(770) 528-8818

Kimberly White, Keep Cobb Beautiful Executive Director
(770) 528-1135

Become a Green School!

It is easy being green!

The Green School Initiative is open to all public and private schools in Cobb County, grades K-12.

To qualify as a Green Classroom a teacher must complete five environmentally based lesson plans per year.  This can be any environmentally beneficial project, a lesson plan of your own, a facility tour, or presentations by one of the Cobb County Green School Coordinators.

After the projects are completed you submit the activity log that explains the 5 activities, including:  The names, dates, duration, brief description, number of students, and what the children learned.

This information may be provided on our online form, or the form can be printed and mailed to:

Green School Program
660 South Cobb Drive
Marietta, GA 30060

Schools interested in achieving Green School status must register online.  In order to qualify as a Green School five teachers in your school must each complete five earth friendly activities throughout the year.  After each teacher completes the lessons, the activities log should be completed by the teacher via the online form or mailed to the address above.

The deadline for submission of your information is the last school day of March.  If you have an activity scheduled for later in the year please submit the activities log including that activity with the date the lesson is planned via the online form prior to the last school day of March.  A Green School Coordinator may contact you to confirm completion of the activity. Green Classroom and Green School recognitions will be held during April and May prior to the end of the school year.

Your school will be awarded:

  • Public declaration of Cobb County Green School Status
  • A Green School Driveway sign

For more information, read our brochure.

Award Winning Schools

Cobb County Green School Initiative awards a Green School Gold and Silver Medal award.

Green School Gold Medal Award:

15 or more Green Classrooms (15+ teachers doing five earth friendly activities throughout the year and completing their Activities Log)

Green School Silver Medal Award:

10 -14 Green Classrooms (10 – 14 teachers doing five earth friendly activities throughout the year and completing their Activities Log)

2012-2013 Award Winners

In total, 32 schools received Green School designation for the 2012-2013 school year.  These designations represent the work of 474 teachers, with over 2500 hours of environmental education reaching more than 16,600 students.

16 schools received Gold status designation:

  • A.L. Burruss Elementary
  • Belmont Hills Elementary
  • Big Shanty Intermediate
  • Blackwell Elementary
  • Davis Elementary
  • Due West Elementary
  • Fair Oaks Elementary
  • Ford Elementary
  • Hendricks Elementary
  • Keheley Elementary
  • Kennesaw Charter Science and Math Academy
  • Lewis Elementary
  • Mount Bethel Elementary
  • Pickett’s Mill Elementary
  • Russell Elementary
  • Still Elementary

7 schools received Silver status designation:

  • Addison Elementary
  • Hightower Trail Middle
  • Mountain View Elementary
  • Nicholson Elementary
  • Nickajack Elementary
  • Tritt Elementary
  • Vaughan Elementary

9 schools received Green status designation:

  • Bullard Elementary
  • Daniell Middle
  • Hillgrove High
  • Kemp Elementary
  • Lassiter High
  • Lovinggood Middle
  • Murdock Elementary
  • Rocky Mount Elementary
  • Sanders Elementary