Back to top

Superior Court Judges

Superior Court Judges 2022

The Superior Court of Cobb County is a court of general jurisdiction handling both civil and criminal law actions. The Superior Court has concurrent jurisdiction with State Court over cases involving misdemeanors, contract disputes, premises liability, and various other actions. In addition, the Superior Court has exclusive equity jurisdiction over all cases of divorce, title to land, and felonies involving jury trials, including death penalty cases. The Superior Court of Cobb County has eleven elected judges who preside over jury trials, rule on evidence, hear motions, and render verdicts in bench trials. Each Superior Court Judge is elected to a four-year term.

Note that as of January 1, 2022, Judge Henry R. Thompson will join the Superior Court of Cobb County bench. Each judge’s office has been advised by the Clerk of Superior Court and Superior Court Administration that certain cases have been randomly reassigned to Judge Thompson. If a case has been re-assigned, it will be on the re-assignment order. Parties in all re-assigned cases should contact Judge Thompson's office for information regarding those cases.