Back to top


Welcome to Cobb County, one of the premier counties in the nation!

We’re glad you chose to make your home here along with approximately 750,000 other residents who enjoy our high quality of life. Once you settle in, you’ll find top-notch schools, acres of park land, excellent recreational and arts facilities, first-rate shopping and dining, and unparalleled government services.

But right now, you probably have many questions. Here you’ll find information on auto tags and titles, driver’s licenses, school districts, utilities, public safety, recreation and recycling, as well as links to other sources of information.

If your residence is located inside the city limits of one of Cobb's municipalities, visit their sites for more information:

Acworth Austell Kennesaw Marietta Powder Springs Smyrna

Need More Information?

Did we miss information useful to you?

Send us an email at [email protected] or call (770) 528-1000 and let us know!


Cobb County School District

Cobb County Board of Education 
514 Glover Street 
Marietta, GA 30060
(770) 426-3300

To enroll your child in a Cobb County school, you need:

  • Proof of residency,
  • Certified birth certificate from your state department of vital statistics,
  • Immunization records on Georgia state forms,
  • Vision, hearing and dental screening records from a family physician or local health clinic.

For immunization information, contact Cobb and Douglas Public Health at (770) 514-2300 or visit their website at

Marietta City School District

Marietta Board of Education 
250 Howard Street 
Marietta, GA 30060 
(770) 422-3500

To enroll your child in a Marietta City school, you need:


  • Birth Certificate,
  • Custody Documentation,
  • Hearing, Dental, Vision and Nutrition Screening Certificate,
  • Certificate of Immunization,
  • Child’s Social Security # - (not mandatory),
  • School Health Record – (not mandatory),
  • Discipline Record – (mandatory grades 7-12 GA schools only) 10 day grace or sign record release form,
  • Grade Record or Transcript – (mandatory grades 7-12 GA schools only) 10 day grace or sign record release form,
  • Proof of Residency


The grades 3-5 magnet program at Marietta Center for Advanced Academics (MCAA) offers students a technology-driven curriculum that emphasizes science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). Non-residents who meet admissions/eligibility criteria may apply to the magnet program at MCAA and pay tuition (same tuition schedule as all non-resident students).

Marietta City Schools also allows students in grades K-12, who reside outside the district, to attend our school system. To qualify, interested parents must complete a Non-resident enrollment application/contract and be approved. The application must include the student’s most recent school record, including:

Completed Non-resident enrollment applications with all required documents, should be submitted to the school principal. Acceptance as a non-resident tuition student is valid for one school-year only. Applicants must complete a Non-resident enrollment application/contract each school year. The superintendent approves all applicants based on the stated criteria and available space in school programs. Questions regarding non-resident student enrollment may be directed to the school principal or the Associate Superintendent.

Property Taxes and Motor Vehicles

Property Taxes

Cobb County Tax Commissioner's Office 
Property Tax Division 
736 Whitlock Ave Ste 100 
Marietta, GA 30064 
(770) 528-8600

In Cobb County, real estate and commercial property taxes are due October 15 each year. Bills are mailed August 15.

Homestead exemption applications are due April 1, and apply to the owner of the property as of January 1 of the year you submit your application.

Motor Vehicles

Cobb County Tax Commissioner's Office 
Motor Vehicle Division 
700 South Cobb Dr 
Marietta, GA 30060 
(770) 528-8600

Vehicles must be titled and registered in the state of Georgia within 30 days of establishing residency. A one-time tax is due at the time of titling the vehicle.

Registration fees are due on the owner's birthday each year. An emissions inspection may be required for the vehicle prior to renewing the registration.

Driver's License

Department of Driver Services

New residents must obtain a Georgia's driver's license within 30 days of establishing residency. Existing Georgia residents moving to Cobb County must update their address to their new residence.

If you are new to Georgia, visit the Department of Driver Services for more information. If you have moved to Cobb County from another county in Georgia, you can change your address online.

For locations, hours, and information visit the Department of Driver Services website.

Voter's Registration

Cobb Board of Elections Main Office
736 Whitlock Ave., Suite 400
Marietta GA 30064
(770) 528-2300

You must be a U.S. citizen and at least 18 years old to vote in any city, county, state or federal elections. You must be registered 30 days prior to an election to vote in that election. There are several opportunities and locations where you can register to vote:

  • Online with the Georgia Secretary of State
  • Online or in-person when you update, replace, or apply for a Georgia Driver's License
  • At any Cobb County Library when you apply for a library card. Blank applications are also available
  • At the Board of Elections Main Office in-person or over the phone


Our libraries offer a variety of materials, digital resources, programs and community meeting spaces.

Library cards are free for county residents. Cards are valid for two years, and sign-up only takes a few minutes at any of the 17 library locations. Proof of residency is required to apply.

For more information about Cobb County libraries, visit or call (770) 528-2320.



Cobb County does not provide power service to residents, that service is provided by one of the following companies:

Company Phone
Cobb EMC (770) 429-2100
Georgia Power (888) 660-5890
Greystone Power (770) 942-6576
Marietta Power (770) 794-5150
Acworth Power (770) 917-8903


Natural Gas

Visit the Georgia Public Service Commission at


Company Phone
AT&T U-Verse (844) 729-6950
Charter (800) 955-7766
Comcast (800) 266-2278
Google (866) 777-7550

Landline Phone

Company Phone
AT&T (800) 288-2020

Sanitation and Recycling

Garbage Collection

Unincorporated Cobb County

Cobb County does not provide countywide garbage or sanitation service. A host of private companies provide these services. Please contact your local Homeowner’s Association, your neighbors, or search the internet for companies that are available to serve your area.

Municipal Collection

Service Phone
Acworth Sanitation (770) 917-8903
Austell Residential Garbage (770) 944-4325
Kennesaw Sanitation (770) 421-8582
Marietta Environmental Services (770) 794-5595
Powder Springs Sanitation (770) 943-8010
Smyrna Sanitation (678) 631-5438


Cobb County residents are encouraged to recycle. Many of the municipalities also offer curbside pick up of recyclable for city residents. Residents of unincorporated Cobb County need to contract with their garbage haulers for curbside recycling.

For more information on recycling visit our Recycling Facilities, or call:

Organization Phone
Keep Cobb Beautiful (770) 528-1135
Keep Marietta Beautiful (770) 794-5606
Keep Smyrna Beautiful (770) 431-2863