Back to top

About the Neighborhood Safety Commission

The Cobb Neighborhood Safety Commission was created on September 28, 1999 by resolution of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners.

The NSC was established for the following purposes:

  • To assist in efforts to promote safer neighborhoods for both residential and business sectors,
  • To increase local community involvement in neighborhood safety,
  • To identify new neighborhood safety resources, and
  • To strengthen existing neighborhood safety programs

NSC meetings are held monthly on the third Friday, 8:30 a.m. at 100 Cherokee St. (Third floor).

About the Commission

There are 15 members of the Cobb Neighborhood Safety Commission. Members are residents of Cobb County and represent areas of business, industry, community and civic organizations.

They are appointed and qualified by the Cobb County Board of Commissioners. In addition to the 15 appointed members of the Cobb Neighborhood Safety Commission, the director of the Cobb County Public Safety Department, or his designee, is an ex-officio member.

Board Members:

  • Juan Violantes, Chairman Boyce appointee
  • Sam Heaton, Chairman Boyce appointee
  • Carl Dimare, Chairman Boyce appointee
  • Jeff Wood, Commissioner Gambrill appointee
  • Richard Rubio, Commissioner Gambrill appointee
  • Scott Tucker, Commissioner Gambrill appointee
  • Joe Gavalis, Commissioner Ott appointee
  • Andy Smith, Commissioner Ott appointee
  • Neil Fusillo, Commissioner Ott appointee
  • Honorable Joan Bloom, Commissioner Birrell appointee
  • John Hightower, Commissioner Birrell appointee
  • Carlton Stott, Commissioner Birrell appointee
  • Carol Massey, Commissioner Cupid appointee
  • David Harris, Commissioner Cupid appointee
  • Joel Cope, Commissioner Cupid appointee

Suzanne Pete
(770) 528-3803