Back to top


Marietta Square with Kennesaw Mountain in the background

Cobb County is home to six incorporated cities, three Community Improvement Districts, and two development authorities.

Georgia Department of Economic Development

The Georgia Department of Economic Development (GDEcD) is the state’s sales and marketing arm, the lead agency for attracting new business investment, encouraging the expansion of existing industry and small businesses, aligning workforce education and training with in-demand jobs, locating new markets for Georgia products, attracting tourists to Georgia and promoting the state as a destination for arts and location for film, music and digital entertainment projects as well as planning and mobilizing state resources for economic development.


Located in northwest Cobb County, Acworth is home to two magnificent lakes - Acworth and Allatoona - with swimming, fishing, boating and sailing opportunities. Shoppers enjoy Acworth's historical downtown, which offers a variety of cuisines, from classic Italian to spicy Cajun. Acworth has many community parks, as well as the 42-acre Acworth Sports Complex.


Close to Sweetwater Creek in southwest Cobb, Austell has a friendly, hometown atmosphere. Austell's big draw is Six Flags Over Georgia, a theme park whose rides span the thrill spectrum with rides ranging from gentle carousels to twisting, turning roller coasters. Austell's six parks have picnic areas, sports fields and other amenities.


The site of two famous Civil War battles, Kennesaw is home to Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park, a 2,900-acre site including a museum, extensive trails, living history demonstrations and other events. Kennesaw also features the Southern Museum of Civil War and Locomotive History, and the Museum of History and Holocaust Education on the Kennesaw State University campus.


Come see why "it's hip to be square" in Marietta. The turn-of-the-century town square is a great place for unique dining and shopping and starting point for your self-guided walking tour, guided ghost tour, or walking/biking the Mountain-to-River trail. More than 150 historic homes make up Marietta, along with museums of local history, aviation and Gone With the Wind, plus Six Flags White Water park and much more.

Powder Springs

Located just twenty-five miles northwest of Atlanta, Powder Springs is a great destination for outdoor family fun and recreation. The beautiful historic downtown and Old Towne Square is host to events, concerts, shopping, and has connecting trails and routes to the popular Silver Comet Trail.


Known as the “Jonquil City,” Smyrna derives this name from the thousands of jonquils that flourish in gardens and along the streets in early spring. Shop and dine at the Village Green and Market Village, and enjoy 33 acres of parks and green space within one mile of downtown.

Cumberland CID

The Cumberland Community Improvement District (CID), Georgia’s first CID, is a public-private assessment district in northwest Atlanta. It is an organization through which local commercial property owners can advance necessary public infrastructure projects that enhance property values as well as the greater community. Originally formed in 1988 by business leaders interested in improving highway access for the emerging Cumberland submarket, the CID went a step further and created a master road plan for the area. The Cumberland CID now represents 190 commercial property owners (residential excluded), and facilitates additional road and transit infrastructure improvements, streetscapes and beautification projects, bicycle and walking trails, alternate commute programs and services as well as community planning.

Gateway Marietta CID

The Gateway Marietta CID was founded in June of 2014, with the mission to help establish the area as one of the premier business centers in Metro Atlanta.  The CID is conveniently located off I-75 only a few miles north of I-285, within the City of Marietta.

Town Center CID

The Town Center CID is dedicated to making Town Center one of the most desirable communities in the metro Atlanta area through management and funding of transportation infrastructure, safety improvements, beautification and other projects.

Development Authority of Cobb County

The Development Authority of Cobb County is a public, corporate and political body, with powers and authority to encourage, induce, assist and promote the location and expansion of industry and economic development.

South Cobb Redevelopment Authority

The SCRA has the authority to issue bonds to assist in financing infrastructure improvements that foster economic growth and vitality in South Cobb. Additionally, the SCRA is the holder of properties acquired and subsequently held in a land bank within its jurisdiction. The SCRA has the liberty to market properties held in the land bank to real estate developers for redevelopment opportunities.