Back to top

Commissioners to hear details on FY23 budget

June 21, 2022

Commissioners will hear details on the proposed FY23 budget during an informational work session set for 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 28.  This meeting will follow the Board of Tax Assessors' approval of the tax digest and will consider the recent pay and class report submitted by Evergreen during a work session earlier this year. Cobb Department Managers warned commissioners that many “critical” frontline positions remain vacant because workers have left for higher-paying jobs, and it has been challenging to replace them.  

Three public hearings on the budget and millage rate will follow into late July.  You can view this meeting (as well as all commission meetings) at www.cobbcounty.org/CobbTV.

Public Hearings on Budget and Millage:
Tuesday, July 12 at 9 a.m.
Tuesday, July 19 at 6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, July 26 at 7 p.m.

More information:

Commissioners approve emergency measures for Cobb's frontline staff:
https://www.cobbcounty.org/communications/news/cobbs-board-okays-emergency-frontline-staff-incentive

Home Assessment Video featuring Cobb's Chief Assessor:
https://youtu.be/FUQcaV0okF0

Metro Atlanta Millage Rate Graph:
https://bit.ly/3xgluhQ

AJC:  As staffing crisis grows, Cobb turns to employee bonuses and private contractors:
https://t.co/rkavsUb00S

Cobb's Department Managers spoke to the Board of Commissioners about staffing issues during a series of work sessions.  WATCH those work sessions through the below links:

Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2021 
Human Resources, Finance, Medical Examiner, Communications
https://youtu.be/bIoC-xp7PhU

Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Public Services, including Parks, Libraries, Senior Services
https://youtu.be/68XOxvxCNNU

Tuesday, October 12, 2021
District Attorney’s Office, Department of Transportation
https://youtu.be/gRZVwbV9ids

Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Community Development, Superior Court
https://youtu.be/GYYzlA-ECxM

Thursday, November 18, 2021
Support Services, including Property Management, Information Services, Tax Assessor, and Purchasing
https://youtu.be/Nh5Jxw-iu6A

Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Department of Public Safety, including Police, Fire, Emergency Management and E911
https://youtu.be/m1ZhSl_iLMo

Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Probate Court, Tax Commissioner, State Court
https://youtu.be/Vdu_0nAWZvo

Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Juvenile Court, Clerk of Superior Court, Water
https://youtu.be/p1D8KF1BU9U

Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Cobb Sheriff’s Office
https://youtu.be/90T5M24mZWU

Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Finance Dept’s Summary of Presentations
https://youtu.be/ZUSbnavdZ8A