Back to top

Commissioners appoint residents to county boards

March 1, 2021

During their regular meeting Feb. 23, Cobb County Commissioners appointed ten residents to various boards to help advise and direct government functions and departments.

Chairwoman Lisa Cupid nominated Craig Owens on the Board of Trustees for the Cobb County Employees Pension. The trustees are charged with administering and managing the Pension Fund for county employees. Owens’ term will expire in December 2022.

Commissioner JoAnn K. Birrell nominated Brian O'Malley to the Board of Zoning Appeals. This board decides appeals where it is alleged there is error in the enforcement of the zoning ordinance, determine special exceptions and grants variances where warranted. O'Malley’s term will expire December 2022.

Commissioner Jerica Richardson made five nominations during the meeting. This included Milton Dortch to join the Airport Advisory Board, which advises Cobb County concerning the future development and use of the airport Dortch’s term will expire in December 2022.

Angelia Pressley was appointed to Keep Cobb Beautiful, which assists the county and Board of Commissioners in establishing, promoting, and maintaining a policy for improved environmental and waste management. Pressley’s concurrent term will expire in December 2024.

Walter Kolis and Ed Finnegan will join the Transit System Advisory Board, which advises the Board of Commissioners in enhancing public transportation for the county. Kolis will serve a concurrent term expiring in December 2024

Patti Zachary was appointed to the Animal Services Board, which recommends regulations to the Board of Commissioners concerning the control and welfare of animals and guidelines for the operation and maintenance of the animal services shelter. Zachary will serve a concurrent term to expire in December 2024.

Commissioner Monique Sheffield nominated three residents to several boards. This included Rachel Gray to the Public Library Board, which represents the library system and the community and advises the director on the governance of the library system. Gray’s term will expire in December 2023.

Tania Robinson will join the One Percent Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax Citizens' Oversight Committee. This body helps ensure the county is accountable for the funds generated by a SPLOST program and implement projects in a timely and effective manner. Robinson’s term will expire in December 2024.

Opeyemi Adeyemi was appointed to the Airport Advisory Board. Adeyemi’s term will expire in December 2022.