Back to top

Cobb Public Safety recognized at annual awards ceremony

public safety award winners
October 3, 2022

October 3, 2022 - Congratulations to those in the Cobb County Public Safety family who were recognized with awards at the Public Safety Appreciation Awards Ceremony sponsored by the Cobb Chamber.

The Award of Merit went to Cobb Fire and Emergency Service's Squad 7 and Rescue 23 for their calm performance under pressure and lifesaving actions during a dangerous house fire.

The Outstanding Community Contribution Award went to Emergency Communications Officer Theresa Carcioppolo for her dedication to educating both children and adults in Cobb County on the 911 industry.

The Public Safety Employee of the Year Award went to Cobb PD Detective Zachary Stannard for maintaining a fierce devotion to aiding the citizens of Cobb County. He was recognized for standing tall in the face of intense stress while tackling two recent critical cases.

picture of award winners

Also, congratulations to this year's nominees from Cobb County, including Deputy Diane Watts, Cobb PD's STEP Unit, Cobb E911's Day Shift B, and Sgt. Heidi Bonito, Deputy Gregory Williams, Deputy Gregory Smimmo, and CJS Marquis McNeil of the Sheriff's Office.

WATCH part of the ceremony dedicated to Cobb's Fallen Heroes, including the two Sheriff's deputies recently killed in the line of duty by clicking the attached link.