Back to top

Cobb Chamber to Honor Public Safety Heroes

police car lights
October 6, 2020

As part of the 20th annual Public Safety Appreciation Week (Oct. 5-11), the Cobb Chamber will honor Cobb County’s finest during a special recognition program at the Public Safety Appreciation luncheon event held at the Coca-Cola Roxy Theatre on October 5. The luncheon will kick off a weeklong effort to celebrate public safety personnel in Cobb County.

Preparations for the event began months in advance, with a nomination process for the Public Safety Employee of the Year Award, in addition to other awards, such as the Medal of Valor, Award of Merit, Distinguished Achievement Award and Outstanding Community Contribution Award. Residents, government officials, public safety agencies and business officials are given the opportunity to nominate public safety personnel for these honors. 

Congratulations to the following personnel and public safety units on their nomination for a public safety recognition award:


  • Paramedic Malcolm Defleice, MetroAtlanta Ambulance Service
  • Lieutenant Michael Goins, Marietta Police Department
  • Shift Supervisor Christopher Hayes, Cobb County 911
  • Paramedic Michael Jordan, MetroAtlanta Ambulance Service
  • Engineer Ryan Knechtel, Smyrna Fire Department
  • Detective Brian Moon, Kennesaw Police Department
  • Firefighter Ron Presley, Marietta Fire Department
  • Deputy Sheriff Tyrone Reid, Cobb County Sheriff’s Office
  • Police Officer Matthew Smith, Kennesaw Police Department
  • Field Intelligence Officer Greg Stacy, Kennesaw State University Police Department
  • Training Manager Krista Tillman, Puckett EMS
  • Detective Evan Wallace, Acworth Police Department
  • Battalion Chief Stephen Westbrook, Smyrna Fire Department

Public Safety Units

  • Cobb Fire EMS Division, Cobb County Fire Department
  • Officers Quinius Lyles & Andrew Abernathy, Cobb County Police Department
  • CCPD Community Affairs Unit, Cobb County Police Department
  • KSU Office of Victim Services, Kennesaw State University DPS & University

Police Department

  • MPD Crime Interdiction Unit, Marietta Police Department
  • Officers Taylor Elliott, Robert Pfeiffer & Jake Prough, Smyrna Police Department

For more information on Public Safety Appreciation Week, visit, or contact Katie Guice at [email protected].